National security or national protectionism? Increasing restrictions on foreign investment

In October 2017, the UK government launched a consultation on taking greater powers to intervene in foreign takeovers that raise national security concerns. The European Commission announced similar proposals in relation to the EU in September. Meanwhile, Germany implemented reforms in 2017 to give the Government greater powers to review and intervene in foreign acquisitions and significant amendments to the U.S. review procedure are also currently being considered. Given the already established restrictions in Australia, and Russia, to name but a few jurisdictions, it is clear that the landscape for companies looking to buy or sell in developed economies has the potential to become much bumpier.

M&A and strategy teams, as well as in-house legal, will need to understand this new landscape in order to best advise their Boards on future strategy involving M&A or other foreign investment.

In this session, a panel of experts from around our network, as well as a guest speaker, will explain how the established and proposed restrictions work in the US, China, EU, France and the UK, the breadth of transactions that can be caught and what scope there is for getting a transaction cleared, and the timescales involved.

 
Who should attend this webinar?

This webinar will be of interest to in-house legal, M&A, strategy and commercial teams and to their professional advisers.

Webinar Start:

09:00 a.m. (EDT - Eastern Daylight Time)
14:00 p.m. (BST - British Summer Time)
15:00 p.m. (CEST - Central European Summer Time)

Webinar Finish:

10:00 a.m. (EDT - Eastern Daylight Time)
15:00 p.m. (BST - British Summer Time)
16:00 p.m. (CEST - Central European Summer Time)

Speakers' biographies

Click here to view our speakers’ biographies.