Business Crime & Investigations

An investigation, whether internal or external, can be a serious threat to your reputation and your business. With criminal and regulatory authorities around the world working together more than ever before, a coordinated international response is often critical to achieving the best outcome. Our team of business crime & investigations lawyers have extensive expertise at the cutting edge of complex multi-jurisdictional enforcement.

Our global expertise across the U.S., UK, Europe and Asia covers the full range of business crime including bribery and corruption, fraud, money laundering, compliance, sanctions, market abuse and all aspects of corporate misconduct. This experience, together with our strong footprint in our local offices, makes us particularly well-placed to advise clients on the strategic decisions they face before, during and after enforcement proceedings.

Our team features senior prosecutors and regulators from key enforcement agencies, amongst them the former chief prosecutor for England & Wales, Alison Saunders. Their combined experience allows us to help our clients navigate the most challenging investigations involving multiple agencies around the world.

We have a deep understanding of what can go wrong and what “good” compliance looks like. Building on our investigations expertise, we work closely with our clients to put them in the best position to prevent, detect and address business crime issues before they become an existential threat.

Explore our key services related to Business Crime

Our business crime lawyers work across a number of areas:

Discover our Global Business Crime Outlook podcast series

Click here >
podcasts

Webinars

Global Business Crime Outlook Series – EPPO

Tuesday 21 September 2021 - (Event now passed)
12:00 - 12:30 CET

The European Public Prosecutor's Office: A new dimension of European criminal law enforcement?

Having only taken office on 1 June 2021, the new European Public Prosecutor’s Office (EPPO), the first supranational public prosecution authority, is already handling about 1200 cases. Tasked with investigating, prosecuting and bringing to justice crimes against the EU budget, the EPPO has the potential to take the effectiveness of European law enforcement to a new level.

In our webinar, we will focus on the following areas:

  • What companies should know about the EPPO’s mission, competence and organisation
  • Cross-border cooperation and the interplay between the EPPO and other EU bodies such as OLAF, Eurojust and Europol
  • Practical implications for companies and criminal defence

Speakers: Kerstin Wilhelm, Partner, Munich Florence Danis, Partner, Brussels

play icon Click here for the recording

Regulating the Digital Economy Series: Session 4 – Online Harms

Wednesday 7 July 2021 - (Event now passed)
13:00 - 13:45 / 14:00 - 14:45 CET / 08:45 - 08:45 EDT

In the next session in our Regulating the Digital Economy virtual series we will focus on the expanding global regulatory landscape aimed at tackling harmful content online, so called "online harms".

Speakers: Sonia Cissé, Caitlin Potratz Metcalf, Ben Packer, Ceyhun Pehlivan, Jemma Purslow

play icon Click here for the recording

Global Business Crime - Whistleblowing and Investigations

Tuesday 6 July 2021 - (Event now passed)
09:00 - 10.00 BST / 16.00 – 17.00 HKT

In the seventh webinar in our Global Business Crime Outlook series, we will look at employment issues including whistleblowing and investigations. Joined by Elizabeth Gardner, Chief Executive at Protect, we will consider the following topics:

Developments in whistleblowing

  • Legal developments

Trends in workplace investigations

  • Recent themes of whistleblowing complaints
  • Regulatory focus Investigations involving alleged criminal conduct

Top tips

  • Learnings from virtual investigations for the ‘hybrid world’

Speakers

Nicola Rabson, Employment Partner, London
Laure de Panafieu, Partner, Employment & Incentives, Singapore
Satindar Dogra, Partner, Dispute Resolution,London
Michael Lamson, Counsel, Dispute Resolution, Hong Kong SAR

play icon Click here for the recording

Global Business Crime - Cybercrime

Wednesday 30 June 2021 - (Event now passed)
15:30 - 16:30 BST / 10:30 - 11:30 EDT

Ireland’s healthcare system, the operations of the world’s biggest meat producer and a key fuel pipeline for the East Coast of the U.S. All were brought to a halt in recent weeks by cyber-attacks. But how do these attacks unfold and what are the legal ramifications for those affected?

In the sixth webinar in our Global Business Crime Outlook series, we will look at the ever-increasing threat of cyber-crime. Joined by Dave Harvey, Senior Director of Cybersecurity at FTI Consulting, we will consider:

  • Who is behind these cyber-attacks and what they are after;
  • How to prepare for a cyber-attack and what organisations should be thinking about now;
  • How organisations should respond to attacks and the tricky legal issues to consider in those first hours;
  • What risks of enforcement action and litigation organisations face after a cyber-attack.

Speakers

Alison Saunders, Partner, Dispute Resolution, London
Ben Packer, Partner, Dispute Resolution, London
Erez Liebermann, Partner, TMT/IP, New York
Peter Church, Counsel, TMT/IP, London
Dave Harvey, Senior Director, FTI Consulting

play icon Click here for the recording

Global Business Crime – Cartels

Monday 10 May 2021 - (Event now passed)
16:00 – 17:00 BST / 11:00 – 12:00 EDT (60 minutes)

We will be discussing cartels, in particular developments in the UK and the US. We will focus on the following areas:

  • Recent developments in criminal cartel enforcement
  • Best practices for responding to investigations
    • Leniency considerations
    • Cross-border privilege aspects
  • Dealing with exposure for individual executives
  • Managing parallel civil damages litigation

Speakers: Tom Cassels, Doug Tween, Alison Saunders

play icon Click here for the recording

Class and Other Collective Actions Following Financial Crime Enforcement: The Emerging Global Risk

Wednesday, 28 April - (Event now passed)
14.30 BST / 15.30 CET / 9.30 EST (45 minutes) 

This webinar will examine the risk of class action and other group litigation that companies and their executives may face following financial crime proceedings. It will also review strategies to mitigate risk and defend collective claims.  

SpeakersAdam Lurie, Satindar DorgraKerstin Wilhelm and Sean Mooney.

play icon Click here for the recording

Global Business Crime – Trends in the global fight against money laundering

20 April 2021 - (Event now passed)
09:00 EST / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CET / 21:00 SGT/HKT  (40 minutes)

In this webinar, we will discuss trends in global anti-money laundering enforcement and, in particular, developments in the US, UK, Germany and across Asia.

We will focus on the following areas:  

  • Trends in predicate crimes, including FATF’s findings about the increased prevalence of certain offences during the pandemic.
  • Recent developments in money laundering techniques, with a focus on crypto currencies and cross-border money laundering.
  • Legislative developments and enforcement action in the US, UK, Germany and across Asia.

Speakers: Doug Davison, Ben Packer, Kerstin WilhelmAndrew Chung

play icon Click here for the recording

Business Crime publications

Matching Articles

Jurisdictions:
Client Services:
Sectors:
Topics:
Reset Filters

Business Crime publications

Meet our Business Crime lawyers

For more information on how our business crime team can support you, please speak to one of our business crime leads below